Reply
Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Connection to 192.168.1.2

I am having difficulty every time I go to the Internet in getting access to your server. I get an Automatic Private Address of 168.254.29.208. If I disable the connection and re enable it, conection is made to 192.168.1.2 and the system works well at speeds of about 11 Mb/sec. I am using a D-Link DSL-2640R, and XP.
I spoke to one of the Tech reps about this and he guided me through setting up the Winsock, but after this the PC would not run and I had to reboot using a previously used config.
Can the Tech reps set up my router from their end? If not can you send me a list of the settings required.
Super Contributor
barney
Posts: 19,574
Registered: ‎19-10-2008
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse and welcome to the forums:smileyhappy:

I have moved this topic into the broadband connection & stability area of the forums where the specialist forum staff (OCE) will pick it up more quickly.

Kind regards

Barney
Moderator
Fred_Sheehan
Posts: 10,687
Registered: ‎22-03-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

If this call was not made by you to Talk Talk about an issue with your Broadband, then it sounds like you may have been the victim of a scam.
You do not need to change Winsock settings to connect to the Talk Talk network, and no talk talk employee would/should have asked you to do this!
They do not require you to change computer settings to access the internet, they only give advice about the router, not your computer settings.
The address that you keep getting is a USA registered address, If you have Anti-virus installed on your computer RUN IT NOW you will have been infected most likely, and your browser is trying to be re-directed.
I have found this free tool that will re-set your winsock settings to their 'proper' settings for you, run the scan first though, after you have scanned and re-set winsock with this free tool, you will need to re-boot for the changes top take effect.
www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
Retired
Nathann
Posts: 23,663
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse,

Just to confirm, did you call TalkTalk and were advised to adjust the Winsock settings, or were you called by someone?

Tech support do not generally provide advice on Winsock, they may occasionally advise to reset the winsock settings. If you have made changes to the Winsock settings, then you can reset the Winsock which should it restore it back to default.

Are you connected in a wired or wireless state?

Thanks

Nathan



Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi
I am connected in Wired State. I ran Spyware Doctor with Antivurus, No errors. I then ran the suggested Winsock fix and Rebooted, and the connection re-established itself as 192.168.1.2 and the system works OK. When I switched the router Off and rebooted I got the same Automatic Private Address of 168.254.29.208. When I disabled the connection and re enabled it, the conection was made to 192.168.1.2 and the system is now working OK.

Why am I gettiong this Automatic Private Address of 168.254.29.208 instead of the correct one?
OCE_Mark
Posts: 35,822
Topics: 10
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 342
Registered: ‎14-09-2009
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse,

With this issue can you confirm if you have tested an alternative router and if the issue persists??

Cheers

M:smileyhappy:



Moderator
Fred_Sheehan
Posts: 10,687
Registered: ‎22-03-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Are you re-setting the router and getting the error, or are you re-setting the connection on the computer?
If it is the computer then I think you need to check your hosts file for this erroneous IP address, this is a common malware trick.
Open a windows explorer window at the C:\ drive, type 'hosts' (without the quotes) in to the search bar, and when it finds the hosts file for you, right click on it and choose 'open with notepad', in the list you 'should' as a rule only have a few loopback IP's, such as 127.0.01.
If you see any references to this 'rogue' IP address, delete them from the list, as I say, that IP is registered as being in the USA, hence my suspicion that it is 'up to no good'.
If there is nothing in the 'hosts file', check your settings for the internet connection in control panel, the IPv4 settings should be set to 'obtain IP automatically' and 'obtain DNS automatically'
Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

When I Switch on the PC during switch on of the system the Network assigns this incorrect IP address. This does not happen when I change back to the Huawei HG 520b. I changed to the D-Link as I get 11Mb/s on the D-Link as opposed to 6Mb/s on the Huawei
Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

I checked my hosts file and there were no unusual IP addresses mentioned there.

This problem goes away when I use the Huawei HG520b. I switched to my D-Link DSL 2640R as I got 11Mb/s as opposed to 6.5 Mb/s from the Huawei. Is the set up of the D-Link correct for switch on time? Can the Techs change it or can I?
Moderator
Fred_Sheehan
Posts: 10,687
Registered: ‎22-03-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

As it only happens on the D-Link, it suggests a router issue, the easiest step to try first is to reset the router to 'factory' defaults, there is a small reset hole by the power switch, press gently in the hole with a paperclip till you feel/hear a small click, hold this in for about 10 seconds.
This will reset the router, you may need to re-insert the talk talk network information in the router after this, to log in to the D-Link, type this in a web browser;
192.168.1.1
At the prompt, the user name and password are both admin this is case sensitive, If you see the 'tarffic lights', click on 'advanced' and say yes to the prompt, you should then be at the routers own internal web pages, the settings you need to check are;
Settings

  • VPI: 0
  • VCI: 38
  • MTU: 1432
  • DNS settings: Leave these blank or 0.0.0.0 so the settings are provided automatically from the network
  • Authentication: CHAP
  • Encapsulation: PPP over ATM (PPPoA). VC-MUX
You will also need your TalkTalk Broadband username and password. You'll find these in the welcome letter we sent. If you cannot find your welcome letter and cannot remember your broadband username and password, you can call free of charge from a TalkTalk landline on 0870 0875 562 to retrieve them.

The settings will be in the WAN and DHCP sections in that router if memory serves correctly.

More help with your router can be found here;

help.talktalk.co.uk/app/answers/detail/a_id/1376

You can set any name (SSID) and password you want for the wireless network, you will need to use the same details to log on wirelessly for all the wireless devices you want to connect to the roputer. Use WPA2 as the encryption type, as this is the most secure.

regards
fred
OCE_Mark
Posts: 35,822
Topics: 10
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 342
Registered: ‎14-09-2009
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse,

As Fred has advised if the issue is isolated to the D-Link router it would indicate the router is the cause of the issue, rather than anything service related.

If you reset the router to factory defaults and input the setting as Fred has helpfully provided this may help resolve the issue. If you can confirm if this does resolve the issue for you.

Cheers

M:smileyhappy:



Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi
I reset the D-Link router and set it to the values you requested but the line still goes to the old wrong IP address.

As before by Disabling and Enabling the connection rhe line connects to 192.168.1.1 at a speed of about 11 Mb/s
OCE_Mark
Posts: 35,822
Topics: 10
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 342
Registered: ‎14-09-2009
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse,

If the issue is isolated to the dlink router it would indicate the router is the cause of the issue.

The resolution to this would be to change the router. I understand you have a HG521 which hold a stable connection so it would be advisable to revert to this router to resolve the issue.

Cheers

M:smileyhappy:



Moderator
Fred_Sheehan
Posts: 10,687
Registered: ‎22-03-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Check the ADSL mode in the Huawei, it should give broadly similar results to the D-Link, set it to ADSL2+ mode and see what happens.
Super Contributor
clivejo
Posts: 536
Registered: ‎29-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Originally Posted by mggrosse
I am having difficulty every time I go to the Internet in getting access to your server. I get an Automatic Private Address of 168.254.29.208.

This IP is perfectly normal and I don't think its a malware infection. If for some reason your computer cant make contact with a DHCP server and obtain an IP lease, Windows will automatic assign an IP within the 169.254.0.0 - 169.254.255.255 range. More information can be found here en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Link-local_address
However, if Windows is assigning you an Automatic address this means that the DHCP server is not working, or Windows is not configured correctly(More likely).
Firstly, in Network Connections menu click on the LAN connection and select Properties. Now in the TCP/IP settings make sure it is set to "Obtain an IP address automatically" and "Obtain DNS server automatically"

Let me know how you get on with this.
___________________________________


Bring back Barney - support the BBB campaign

___________________________________
Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi
TCP/IP setting is set to "Obtain an IP address automatically" and "Obtain DNS server automatically"

Mike
OCE_Mark
Posts: 35,822
Topics: 10
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 342
Registered: ‎14-09-2009
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi Mggrosse,

You could try to set a static IP in the TCP/IP settings.

From the above image if you click "Use the Following IP Address" and Use 192.168.1.8, Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 and the Default Gateway as 192.168.1.1 and report if issues persist.

Cheers

M:smileyhappy:



Occasional Contributor
mggrosse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎25-06-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi M

I tried setting the static addresses as you said, but could not find the Internet, even after disabling and re-enabling the connection.
the automatic DNS address button was greyed over and it appeared to be asking for Prefered and Alternate DNS addresses

Cheers
Mike
Super Contributor
baz134dog
Posts: 9,115
Registered: ‎03-03-2010
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Does it help if you put in Google addresses for the DNS Servers:

8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
OCE_Mark
Posts: 35,822
Topics: 10
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 342
Registered: ‎14-09-2009
Founder

Re: Connection to 192.168.1.2

Hi mggrosse,

As Baz has advised can you confirm if your able to connect using the Google DNS settings?

Cheers

M:smileyhappy: